New(ish) Lip Products from the Drugstore

There have been tons of new lip products recently, so I thought I would buy a few different ones that have been generating some buzz in the beauty world recently and do a review! These are all fairly new products. Some are very recent, but all have been released within the last 6-8 months. Enjoy!

1. Almay Liquid Lip Balm: I’m not usually a huge fan of Almay products. Rarely has anything from their line wowed me and you don’t often hear a lot of buzz around their products. However, I had heard good things about the new liquid lip balm. I love it. It’s very hydrating and smooth on the lips without being heavy or sticky. This makes it really comfortable to wear. It gives a translucent wash of colour to the lips with lots of shine. It’s not opaque or super pigmented (it doesn’t claim to be though), but still gives a solid amount of colour. It’s perfect for daytime or at night if you’re wearing a bolder eye look. It has a doe-foot applicator. I got it in the shade Apple a Day which is a nice red.

2. Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm: Youtube is going crazy over these right now. Everyone is trying them out. This was alright for me. It wasn’t too drying and felt alright on the lips. They give a lot of shine. What I didn’t like is that they have a lot of glitter in them. As the product wears off you’re left with glitter stuck to your lips. It’s not too noticeable unless you look close up, but still annoying and feels a bit gritty on the lips. Based on the swatches that I’ve been seeing this product seems to vary a lot in the look it gives based on the shade you get. If you get a bright shade they are quite pigmented, but there are also more neutral and sheer shades. They also come in a Matte formula without the glitter and shine that is supposed to be excellent. Very pigmented and not drying. These apply like a big crayon and twist up. I got this in the shade Demure which is a light, nude-y pink. Good for daytime or with a bold eye look at night.

3. Covergirl Lipslicks Smoochies: This was probably my favorite of all the products that I picked up. It has the texture of a lip balm so it’s very hydrating, smooth and comfortable to wear, but it gives a translucent wash of colour to the lips. It gives a little shine, but all in all a very wearable product. This is perfect for daytime or with a bold eye look at night. It twists up like a traditional lipstick or balm. I got this in the shade #text me which is a darker berry tone.

4.Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer (called Show Off Lip Lacquer in the United States): This product was getting a lot of buzz around the summer time. While I didn’t mind it, I think I prefer a traditional lipstick to this product. It goes on smoothly, but it never fully set and dried. It feels more like a lip gloss, but it gives the look of a lipstick. They are highly pigmented and quite opaque. They have a bit of shine to them, but if you dab your lips with a tissue they become more matte. The colour did start to feather a bit throughout the day and I was always very conscious that it was on my lips. I didn’t want it to smear. I think it would hold up okay if you were just sipping a drink, however you can’t eat very well with it. It transferred onto everything and I had to reapply after lunch. This product is definitely for a bolder look, especially because there’s only one nude in the line. The colours are very bright and opaque. It has a doe-foot applicator. I got it in the shade Stellar which is a bright pinky red.

5. Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm: This product claims to give “sheer colour and soft shine” which is exactly what it delivers. While these aren’t as pigmented or shiny as the Revlon Lacquer Balms I prefer this product because it isn’t glittery. It’s very hydrating and comfortable to wear. They aren’t very pigmented, but since they only promise sheer colour I think they deliver. This product would be perfect for during the day. It applies like a big, twist up crayon. I have the shade Ballet Slipper which is a very light baby pink.

Hopefully this review was helpful for those of you looking to try out some new lip products from the drugstore. I certainly had fun trying them all out. Let me know of any other blog posts you’d like to see or what you thought of these products if you’ve tried them! Thanks for reading!

-Carmen

One thought on “New(ish) Lip Products from the Drugstore

  1. Pingback: November Spree | Tasha's Face

Leave a comment